## Profile of Honorable CM Mr. Pushkar S Dhami

Pushkar Singh Dhami (born 16 September 1975) is an Indian politician and a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party, serving as the 10th and the current Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. He was elected as MLA in Uttarakhand Vidhan Sabha from Khatima in 2012 and 2017. He was appointed Chief Minister for the first time in 2021. He lost his seat in 2022 elections, but was reelected as Chief Minister by BJP MLAs. He is the only Chief Minister of the state to assume a second consecutive term as CM ,since its creation. On 3 June 2022 he won the Champawat Assembly bypoll.

## Personal life and career

Pushkar Singh Dhami was born in a Kumaoni Hindu family at Tundi village of Pithoragarh district. His ancestral village is Harkhola, Pithoragarh. His family moved to Tundi village where he studied until 5th standard after that they moved to Nagla Tarai Bhabar, Khatima. His father was in the army and retired as a Subedar.

He graduated from Lucknow University in Human Resource Management & Industrial Relations and pursued LL.B. from University of Lucknow. He has also served as an adviser to Bhagat Singh Koshiyari while Koshiyari was serving as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand in 2001.

### **Political career**

Dhami started his political career in the year 1990 with Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad, the student wing of the Bharatiya Janata Party.Pushkar Singh Dhami worked as a political adviser to former CM Bhagat Singh Koshyari. He also served as the state president of the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha until 2008. During this time, he was credited with asserting the state government to reserve 70% of opportunities for the local youth in industries of the state. On 2021, in political crisis Dhami to be considered as the deputy chief minister.

# **Chief Minister in 2021**

On 3 July 2021, he was sworn in as the 10th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand, after the resignation of Tirath Singh Rawat due to political crisis regarding his legitimacy to hold the post and assumed office on 4 July 2021. He became the youngest Chief Minister of Uttarakhand at the age of 45.

# **Positions held**

Year	Description
2012 - 2017	Elected to 3rd Uttarakhand Assembly (1st term) Member - Committee on Estimates (2012–17) Member - Committee on Government Assurances (2012–17)
2017 - 2022	Elected to 4th Uttarakhand Assembly (2nd term) Member - Committee on Government Assurances (2017–21) Member - Committee on Petitions (2017–21) 10th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand (4 July 2021 - 23 March 2022)
2022 - Till date	Elected to 5th Uttarakhand Assembly in by election (3rd term) 10th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand (23 March 2022 - Till date)